Enrollment

Around 50% of SIE students attend on contract from outside our attendance zone. Shreve Island accepts contract students each year based on available space. The contract outlines expectations for students and parents.

 

It takes a village of supportive parents to make a successful school. We are looking for committed families that will get involved in making our school the best it can be. Together we really can help every child reach his or her potential. 

 

Kindergarten Enrollment

Each year we accept around fifty new Kindergarten students on contract from outside our attendance zone. Priority is given to Kindergartners with siblings already attending SIE.  We mail out our acceptance letters the same time the Magnet Schools on the Friday before Spring Break.

Out-of-District Kindergarten Registration begins Monday, January 27th at 8:00 AM. 

Children should be 5 years old by September 30th to enroll in Kindergarten.

For Kindergarten students living in the Shreve Island attendance zone:

Parents must register their child online here:   https://jgrade.caddoschools.org/register/

 

Spring 2020 Important Dates for Kindergarten Applications

Jan 16: Kindergarten Open House 6:00 PM 


Jan 27: Out-of-District Kinder Registration 8:00 - 10:00 (bring all registration documents)


Feb 24 - Feb 28: Kindergarten Testing*


March 20: Acceptance Letters Mailed

 

*Kindergarten Testing

When you register on Jan. 27, you will sign up for a testing time for your child. Testing is administered individually and takes about 20 minutes. This test is to assist us in arranging classes that are an even mix of all current ability level and anticipating the needs of each student.

Registration Documents

for Kindergarten - 5th Grade.

  • A copy of your child's birth certificate;

  • A copy of your child's Social Security card;

  • Your child's updated health card/shot record

  • A copy of the child's last report card and any standardized test scores

  • Proof of residence: 

    • acceptable are lease agreement, mortgage, utility bills (cannot be disconnect notice)​

  • Most recent report card (Grades 1 - 5)​

You can download a Student Registration Form here. These will also be provided at Open House and Registration Day. You may view our contract here.

 

School Tours

You may sign up for one of our scheduled small group tours with the Principal. This is your opportunity to see what classroom instruction looks like across our campus on a typical day. Call the office at 869-2335 to reserve your place.  Tours cover the whole school and are open to parents considering any grade level enrollment. You may bring your child also!


Tour Dates for Spring 2020 - all tours run from 9:00 AM to 9:40 AM

Please call the office at 869-2335 to sign up for a date. 

 

Thurs, Jan 23                  

Tues, Jan 28

Tues, Feb 4

Tues, Feb 25

Tues, March 3

Thurs, March 5

Tues, March 17

Thurs, March 19

Thurs, April 2

Tues, April 7

Thurs, April 23

Tues, May 5

Thurs, May 7

Thurs, May 28

Tues, June 2

Thurs, June 4

 

If none of these dates/times work for you please email the Principal at GCOLVIN@caddoschools.org and we will arrange a time that works for you!

 
 

Pre-K Enrollment

The Pre-K (4-year old) program is only available for those living in our attendance zone.  You may view the map here, but make sure by entering your address in the district bus route finder here We have two classes with capacity of twenty children each.  There is a waiting list that is called from when enrollment drops below 20 in either class.  This is a federally funded program and has unique requirements for registration documentation. Please call the school for more information. 

 

NEW!!! PreK Registration Now Online Only!

 

PreK registration will now be an online only application. Families may complete the online application found on the Caddo Smart Start website by April 30th.  Go to caddosmartstart.com for more information and to apply. 

PRE-K ENROLLMENT DOCUMENTS REQUIRED

  • Driver's license or valid state ID - MUST MATCH ADDRESS ON PROOF OF RESIDENCE

  • A copy of your child's birth certificate;

  • A copy of your child's Social Security card;

  • Your child's updated health card/shot record

  • A copy of the child's last report card and any standardized test scores (if applicable).

  • Proof of income: 2 consecutive check stubs for each adult in the home or SNAP letter.

  • Proof of residence "in name".

    • acceptable are lease agreement, mortgage, utility bills (cannot be disconnect notice)

 

Grades 1-5 Enrollment

Though the majority of our contract students join us in Kindergarten each year, we usually have spaces available in grades 1-5 also.  If interested, you may come by the school with the registration documents at any time to have your child placed on the waiting list.  We cannot accept transfers from other Caddo Parish Public Schools after the first week of school has been completed. We may accept student transfers from out-of-state, private schools. or homeschooling at any time if space is available.  Please feel free to sign up for a school tour. 

 

Upcoming Events

Tues, Feb 25

Free Dress Day for all students (no charge!)

 

Wed, Feb 26

Progress Reports

 

Thurs, Feb 27

Non-Uniform Dress (paid)

& Froggy's Fruit Stand

& Black History Program presented by the SIE Drama Club 8:15 & 9:00

Sat, Feb 29

SIE Choir performs at the Mudbugs game!

Thurs, March 5

Non-uniform (paid)

& Family Reading Night for all grades 6PM - 7PM

Fri, March 6

PTA Meeting

8:00 in Cafeteria

Wed, March 11

Froggy's Fruit Stand

Thurs, March 12

Spring Pictures

(may wear dress clothes)

Tues, March 17

1st Grade Music Program 6PM at Captain Shreve H.S. Auditorium.

Thurs, March 19

Non-Uniform (paid)

& Drama Club Variety Show at 6PM

Fri, March 20

Bulldog Treat Day - Pizza

March 23 - 27 

Spring Break

Thurs, April 2

Non-Uniform (paid)

& Last day of 3rd 9-weeks

Fri, April 3

PTA Mtg 8:00 AM

Wed, April 8

Froggy's Fruit Stand

Fri, Apr 10 & Mon, Apr 13

Easter Break No School

Tues, April 14

Awards Assemblies

8:15 K & 1st

9:00 2nd & 3rd

9:45 4th & 5th

April 15 - 22

5th Grade LEAP Testing

Thurs, March 5

Non-uniform (paid)

Wed, April 22

Froggy's Fruit Stand 

& 2nd Grade Artbreak Field Trip

Thurs, April 23

3rd Grade Artbreak Field Trip

Fri, April 24

Field Day!

April 27 - May 1

3rd & 4th Grade LEAP Testing

Thurs, April 30

Non-uniform (paid)

& 2nd Grade Music Program 6PM at Captain Shreve

Wed, May 6

Froggy's Fruit Stand

& Progress Reports

May 11 - 15

Instructional Intersession

May 18 - 22 

Intersession - No School

Mon, May 25

Memorial Day - No School

Thurs, May 28

Non-uniform (paid) 

& Froggy's Fruit Stand

Fri, May 29

PTA Bulldog Treat Day - Kona Ice

Wed, June 3

SIE Drama Club presents 'Cinderella" 6PM

Thurs, June 4

Non-uniform (paid)

Fri, June 5 

PTA Meeting 8AM

Fri, May 1

PTA Meeting 8AM

Tues, June 9

PK Celebration 8:15 AM

Wed, June 10

Kindergarten Celebration

9:00 AM at Captain Shreve

Thurs, June 11

5th Grade Graduation

9:00 AM at Captain Shreve

Fri, June 12

Awards Assemblies

8:15 AM 1st & 2nd Gr

9:15 AM 3rd & 4th Gr. 

& Class Parties 1:30 PM to 2:30 PM

Tues, June 16

Last Day for Students

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 

Shreve Island Elementary 

Tel: 318-869-2335

Fax: 318-364-3483

Address

836 Sewanee Pl.

Shreveport, LA 71105