Counselors

Shanne Bowie, Counselor for PK - 2nd Grade

JSBOWIE@caddoschools.org
 

Ms. Shanne Bowie holds a Masters in Counseling and Guidance from Louisiana Tech University. She is an LPC, (Licensed Professional Counselor). Ms. Bowie began as counselor for PreK-2nd Grade at Shreve Island in January of 2012. She is beginning year 35 of her career working with parents and students in education. She teaches 7 Habits skills in classroom lessons and conducts individual and group counseling with students. Ms. Bowie is Junior Achievement Representative for Shreve Island. She is a National Board Certified Teacher and promotes literacy in her counseling practice through interactive social skills lessons. She is a Past President of the Louisiana Reading Association. She is excited and energized to begin a new year at Shreve Island!

Reading Association. She is excited and energized to begin a new year at Shreve Island!

Jeannie Taylor, Counselor for 3rd - 5th Grade

JLWEEKS-TAYLOR@caddoschools.org

 

Mrs. Jeannie Taylor is a Certified Special Education Teacher and holds a Masters in Guidance Counseling

from Louisiana Tech University. She began her career as a teacher at Alexander Special School and

became a counselor at Shreve Island Elementary in the fall of 1999. Mrs. Taylor worked as a

guidance counselor until the birth of her second child. She then stayed home for several years. Ms.

Taylor teaches 7 Habits skills in classroom lessons and conducts individual and group counseling with

students. She works with students in The National Honor Society at Shreve Island. She is thrilled to be

Shreve Island's Counselor for grades 3-5 for the past seven years!

Please reload

Upcoming Events

Tues, Feb 25

Free Dress Day for all students (no charge!)

 

Wed, Feb 26

Progress Reports

 

Thurs, Feb 27

Non-Uniform Dress (paid)

& Froggy's Fruit Stand

& Black History Program presented by the SIE Drama Club 8:15 & 9:00

Sat, Feb 29

SIE Choir performs at the Mudbugs game!

Thurs, March 5

Non-uniform (paid)

& Family Reading Night for all grades 6PM - 7PM

Fri, March 6

PTA Meeting

8:00 in Cafeteria

Wed, March 11

Froggy's Fruit Stand

Thurs, March 12

Spring Pictures

(may wear dress clothes)

Tues, March 17

1st Grade Music Program 6PM at Captain Shreve H.S. Auditorium.

Thurs, March 19

Non-Uniform (paid)

& Drama Club Variety Show at 6PM

Fri, March 20

Bulldog Treat Day - Pizza

March 23 - 27 

Spring Break

Thurs, April 2

Non-Uniform (paid)

& Last day of 3rd 9-weeks

Fri, April 3

PTA Mtg 8:00 AM

Wed, April 8

Froggy's Fruit Stand

Fri, Apr 10 & Mon, Apr 13

Easter Break No School

Tues, April 14

Awards Assemblies

8:15 K & 1st

9:00 2nd & 3rd

9:45 4th & 5th

April 15 - 22

5th Grade LEAP Testing

Thurs, March 5

Non-uniform (paid)

Wed, April 22

Froggy's Fruit Stand 

& 2nd Grade Artbreak Field Trip

Thurs, April 23

3rd Grade Artbreak Field Trip

Fri, April 24

Field Day!

April 27 - May 1

3rd & 4th Grade LEAP Testing

Thurs, April 30

Non-uniform (paid)

& 2nd Grade Music Program 6PM at Captain Shreve

Wed, May 6

Froggy's Fruit Stand

& Progress Reports

May 11 - 15

Instructional Intersession

May 18 - 22 

Intersession - No School

Mon, May 25

Memorial Day - No School

Thurs, May 28

Non-uniform (paid) 

& Froggy's Fruit Stand

Fri, May 29

PTA Bulldog Treat Day - Kona Ice

Wed, June 3

SIE Drama Club presents 'Cinderella" 6PM

Thurs, June 4

Non-uniform (paid)

Fri, June 5 

PTA Meeting 8AM

Fri, May 1

PTA Meeting 8AM

Tues, June 9

PK Celebration 8:15 AM

Wed, June 10

Kindergarten Celebration

9:00 AM at Captain Shreve

Thurs, June 11

5th Grade Graduation

9:00 AM at Captain Shreve

Fri, June 12

Awards Assemblies

8:15 AM 1st & 2nd Gr

9:15 AM 3rd & 4th Gr. 

& Class Parties 1:30 PM to 2:30 PM

Tues, June 16

Last Day for Students

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 

Shreve Island Elementary 

Tel: 318-869-2335

Fax: 318-364-3483

Address

836 Sewanee Pl.

Shreveport, LA 71105