Start/End Times

School starts promptly at 7:50 AM in the morning. Students should arrive in time to be in their classroom by that time.  We allow drop-offs beginning at 7:20 AM. Those that are eating breakfast at school should arrive no later than 7:35.

 

School dismisses at 3:15 PM. Carpool is from 3:15 to 3:30. All students should be picked up by 3:30. To avoid excessive waits in the carpool line, try joining the line in progress around 3:20 or 3:25. This reduces your wait to 5 or 10 minutes maximum.

Carpool Procedures

Morning carpool regulations:

 

  • Parents bringing their PreK - 1st grade children to school in cars should use the driveway at the back of the school on Robarbs St. (see map)

  • Children in grades 2 – 5 should be dropped off in the front of the school on Sewanee Pl. (map)

  • Carpools that consist of students in PreK-1 st and siblings that are 2nd – 5th should utilize the back carpool area.

Afternoon regulations: 

  • All parents of students who do not ride a bus and are not approved walkers (verified address within walking distance) must use the carpool line.

  • Do not park in the parking lot or on neighborhood streets and walk up to pick up your child. 

  • Please follow the provided carpool maps to enter the carpool line. Breaking in line through side streets is not allowed.

  • All cars will be given an official Shreve Island carpool sign to go in their windshield hanging from the mirror. It is vital that you utilize the carpool signs in your windshield.

  • Students in grades 2-5 will be picked up in the front of the school, Students in PK-1 st grade will be picked up in the back (with their older siblings if applicable).

  • If your child is not ready for pickup when you are at the pickup point, please pull up as directed by duty personnel and the student will be called again.

  • We ask that you turn right as you leave the rear carpool area so that you do not hold up traffic behind you.

  • As you are waiting in line, do not block the driveways of our neighbors or intersecting streets.

  • No parking in the front or back driveways. If you need to get out of your car to go into the building, please park your car in one of the parking spaces.

 

TRANSPORTATION CHANGES

If you wish to have your child go home with a friend or by some method other than his/her regular method, we must have a written note. The office will call you to confirm the note. If we do not have a written note, we will require the child to go home in the usual way.

 

CHECK-OUTS

NO check outs after 2:30 PM. Please do not check your child out early unless it is an emergency. Every instructional minute counts.  Valid photo identification must be shown when checking out your child. This is for the protection of your child. The person checking out the child must be listed on the child’s demographic.  Parents must wait in the office while the child comes from class to meet them.

 

CARPOOL MAP FOR MORNING AND AFTERNOON.

PLEASE NOTE THAT PK-2 DROP OFF ON ROBARBS CLOSES AT 7:50 AM, PLEASE PULL TO FRONT ON SEWANEE TO CHECK IN LATE STUDENTS.

Upcoming Events

Tues, Feb 25

Free Dress Day for all students (no charge!)

 

Wed, Feb 26

Progress Reports

 

Thurs, Feb 27

Non-Uniform Dress (paid)

& Froggy's Fruit Stand

& Black History Program presented by the SIE Drama Club 8:15 & 9:00

Sat, Feb 29

SIE Choir performs at the Mudbugs game!

Thurs, March 5

Non-uniform (paid)

& Family Reading Night for all grades 6PM - 7PM

Fri, March 6

PTA Meeting

8:00 in Cafeteria

Wed, March 11

Froggy's Fruit Stand

Thurs, March 12

Spring Pictures

(may wear dress clothes)

Tues, March 17

1st Grade Music Program 6PM at Captain Shreve H.S. Auditorium.

Thurs, March 19

Non-Uniform (paid)

& Drama Club Variety Show at 6PM

Fri, March 20

Bulldog Treat Day - Pizza

March 23 - 27 

Spring Break

Thurs, April 2

Non-Uniform (paid)

& Last day of 3rd 9-weeks

Fri, April 3

PTA Mtg 8:00 AM

Wed, April 8

Froggy's Fruit Stand

Fri, Apr 10 & Mon, Apr 13

Easter Break No School

Tues, April 14

Awards Assemblies

8:15 K & 1st

9:00 2nd & 3rd

9:45 4th & 5th

April 15 - 22

5th Grade LEAP Testing

Thurs, March 5

Non-uniform (paid)

Wed, April 22

Froggy's Fruit Stand 

& 2nd Grade Artbreak Field Trip

Thurs, April 23

3rd Grade Artbreak Field Trip

Fri, April 24

Field Day!

April 27 - May 1

3rd & 4th Grade LEAP Testing

Thurs, April 30

Non-uniform (paid)

& 2nd Grade Music Program 6PM at Captain Shreve

Wed, May 6

Froggy's Fruit Stand

& Progress Reports

May 11 - 15

Instructional Intersession

May 18 - 22 

Intersession - No School

Mon, May 25

Memorial Day - No School

Thurs, May 28

Non-uniform (paid) 

& Froggy's Fruit Stand

Fri, May 29

PTA Bulldog Treat Day - Kona Ice

Wed, June 3

SIE Drama Club presents 'Cinderella" 6PM

Thurs, June 4

Non-uniform (paid)

Fri, June 5 

PTA Meeting 8AM

Fri, May 1

PTA Meeting 8AM

Tues, June 9

PK Celebration 8:15 AM

Wed, June 10

Kindergarten Celebration

9:00 AM at Captain Shreve

Thurs, June 11

5th Grade Graduation

9:00 AM at Captain Shreve

Fri, June 12

Awards Assemblies

8:15 AM 1st & 2nd Gr

9:15 AM 3rd & 4th Gr. 

& Class Parties 1:30 PM to 2:30 PM

Tues, June 16

Last Day for Students

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 

Shreve Island Elementary 

Tel: 318-869-2335

Fax: 318-364-3483

Address

836 Sewanee Pl.

Shreveport, LA 71105