Back to School means back to earlier bedtimes. It's a challenge forsure! Research supports consistent, adequate and quality sleepmakes a huge difference in learning, behavior and health for kids.

Benefits and guidance:
https://families.naeyc.org/child-development/encouraging-healthy-sleep-habits

Sleep and learning (w recommended sleep times)
http://achildgrows.com/philly/2015/10/15/sleep-and-learning-a-crucial-connection-and-period-of-consolidation/

Sleep and behavior:
http://center4research.org/child-teen-health/sleepiness-aggressive-behavior-and-bullying/

Sleep deprivation symptoms similar to ADHD:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2316560/Are-confusing

Napping enhances learning in children:
https://www.umass.edu/newsoffice/article/sleep-research-study-finds-daytime-naps

Upcoming Events

Thurs, Nov 14

5th Grade Music Program

at Captain Shreve Auditorium

6:00 PM 

Fri, Nov 15

Grandparents Day

Grades 3rd - 5th 

8:00 AM

Tues, Nov 19

Spirit Night at Dillas!

Thurs, Nov 21

Family Math Night

6:00 - 7:00 PM 

All Ages!

Nov 25 - 29

Thanksgiving Break

Thurs, Dec 5

Non-Uniform for those paid on payforit.net

Dec 9 - 12

Swim for Life at YMCA

All 2nd Graders

Wed, Dec 11

Froggy's Fruit Stand

Progress Reports

Tues, Dec 17

3rd Grade Music Program 

6:00 PM at Captain Shreve

Thurs, Dec 19

Non-Uniform for those paid on payforit.net

Class Parties

1:30 PM - 2:30 PM

Fri, Dec 20 - Fri, Jan 3

Christmas Break

Mon, Jan 6

Professional Development

Day - No School

Tues, Jan 7 

Students Return

Contact Us

© Copyright 2019 

Shreve Island Elementary 

Tel: 318-869-2335

Fax: 318-364-3483

Address

836 Sewanee Pl.

Shreveport, LA 71105